Composites World / NetComposites

Connecting you to the composites industry


NetComposites Ltd has transferred the rights and ownership of this website to Gardner Business Media Inc.

On 1st January 2020, NetComposites' media assets including, newsletters and conferences were transferred to Composites World (Gardner Business Media).

This site is no longer being updated. Please direct all enquiries to

For further details see our joint press release.

TRFA Announces 2013 Winner of Excellence in Thermoset Polymer Research Award

  • Tuesday, 20th August 2013
  • Reading time: about 2 minutes

The Thermoset Resin Formulators Association (TRFA) has announced that Qi An of the University of Delaware, US, is the winner of the 4th Annual Excellence in Thermoset Polymer Research Award.

The award was given for Qi An’s paper on “Epoxy-Based Carbon Nanotube/Fiber Hybrid Composites:  Nanoscale Hybridization via Electrophoresis”.  The paper will be presented at the TRFA 2013 Annual Meeting, which takes place on 29 September – 1 October 2013 at the Hyatt Regency Newport in Newport, Rhode Island, US.

Because the results of the competition for the Excellence in Thermoset Polymer Research Award were especially close, TRFA has awarded a second place prize to Zhan H. Yang, of the University of Massachusetts Amherst,US, for her paper on “Enhancing Mechanical Performance by Heterogeneity-Promoting Staged Fabrications.”  Yang’s paper will also be presented at the meeting.

TRFA has also announced two Honourable Mention Awards as follows.

  • • Andrew Shinko, University of Akron, Polymer Engineering, “Crosslinked Polyurea Aerogels with Multifunctional Amines”; and
  • • Leah Heist, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill, Chemistry, “Liquid Crystal Thermosets:  Precursors to Ultra-High Performance Polymers.”

In 2010, TRFA initiated the award for student researchers to encourage and recognise advances in the science and engineering of thermosetting polymers.  In addition, the association believes the award provides the recipient with visibility and exposure within the industry. The prize for each winner includes a cash award and a plaque that will presented at the TRFA Annual Meeting. Winning papers are posted on the TRFA website and included in the conference proceedings. The TRFA Academic Panel judging the submissions was chaired by Dr. Pritesh Patel of Air Products & Chemicals. 

For more information visit:

Share this article

More News

Comments (0)

Leave your comment