Composites World / NetComposites

Connecting you to the composites industry


NetComposites Ltd has transferred the rights and ownership of this website to Gardner Business Media Inc.

On 1st January 2020, NetComposites' media assets including, newsletters and conferences were transferred to Composites World (Gardner Business Media).

This site is no longer being updated. Please direct all enquiries to

For further details see our joint press release.

SAMPE Announce Winner of George Lubin Award

  • Monday, 7th November 2011
  • Reading time: about 2 minutes

SAMPE has announced Dr. Leslie Jay Cohen, Senior Vice President of New Business Development and Strategic Technology with HITCO Carbon Composites as the newest recipient of the SAMPE George Lubin Award.

SAMPE explain that George Lubin, an originator of reinforced plastics and pioneer in the development and implementation of advanced composites for primary structures was quick to realise the importance of SAMPE in the mid 1960’s and founded the SAMPE New York Chapter. Through his efforts and worldwide recognition, he led early international meetings including the first US-USSR non-metallics fair for which he was awarded a service medal by the then US President Nixon.

Upon his death, SAMPE say they were quick to recognise his over 50 years of composites development work by establishing the George Lubin Award. This award is given to recognise others who have made significant contributions in the field of material and process engineering and is the society’s highest honour. Since its inception in 1986, only 14 people have received the distinction and SAMPE say that Dr. Cohen is the first to receive the award since 2006.

Dr. Cohen will be presented with the award at the SAMPE Fellows Banquet on Monday evening, May 21, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. This event will take place during the SAMPE 2012 Conference and Exhibition in Baltimore, Maryland, May 21-24, 2012.

SAMPE will also honour the 2012 class of SAMPE Fellows at the event. The SAMPE Fellow Award recognises SAMPE members for their distinguished, lifelong contributions in the fields of materials and processes. SAMPE explain that since its inception in 1982, only 132 distinguished individuals have been designated as a SAMPE Fellow.

The 2012 SAMPE Fellows will be Dr. Ben Wang, Director & Professor, High Performance Materials Institute, Florida State University, and Professor Luigi (Gino) Torre, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Perugia, Italy. 

For more information visit:

Share this article

More News

Comments (0)

Leave your comment