Composites World / NetComposites

Connecting you to the composites industry


NetComposites Ltd has transferred the rights and ownership of this website to Gardner Business Media Inc.

On 1st January 2020, NetComposites' media assets including, newsletters and conferences were transferred to Composites World (Gardner Business Media).

This site is no longer being updated. Please direct all enquiries to

For further details see our joint press release.

Nottingham University wins Awards

  • Tuesday, 22nd April 2003
  • Reading time: about 2 minutes

The following awards for 2003 were all announced in the past few days. The recipients are all members of the Polymer Composites Group, within the School of Mechanical, Materials, Manufacturing Engineering and Management at University of Nottingham.

The ESAFORM (European Scientific Association for material FORMing) Scientific Prize is awarded annually. It intends to distinguish a young confirmed scientist, who has brought an outstanding contribution in the field of materials forming. This contribution may be either theoretical, or experimental, or both. It may concern any kind of materials (metals, polymers, composites, ceramics, glass, concrete, food materials&) and any forming process (rolling, forging, sheet forming, casting, machining, extrusion, injection moulding, blow moulding). The 2003 recipient is Dr Andrew Long. Dr Long will receive the prize during the annual conference in Salerno, Italy, April 28-30, 2003 where he will deliver an invited lecture on his work.

The Society for the Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering (SAMPE) Europe Student Lecture Competition was held in Paris on 31st March within the main SAMPE Europe Conference. 17 students competed, nominated by their national bodies from 11 countries. The 2003 winner was Agnes Ragondet for her talk: “”Experimental analysis and modelling of the distribution medium used in vacuum infusion”” . As a condition of her award, Agnes will travel to the SAMPE 2004 conference in Long Beach, Ca to present an invited talk.

The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM³) Leslie Holliday Prize for Personal Achievement in the Discipline of Composite Materials – Prof Chris Rudd

The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM³) Composites Award for published work:J Crookston, A C Long, I A Jones. “”Modelling effects of reinforcement deformation during manufacturing on elastic properties of textile composites””, Plastics Rubber and Composites, v31, n2, 2002, pp. 58-65

For more information visit:

Share this article

More News

Comments (0)

Leave your comment