Composites World / NetComposites

Connecting you to the composites industry


NetComposites Ltd has transferred the rights and ownership of this website to Gardner Business Media Inc.

On 1st January 2020, NetComposites' media assets including, newsletters and conferences were transferred to Composites World (Gardner Business Media).

This site is no longer being updated. Please direct all enquiries to

For further details see our joint press release.

M.C. Gill Presented with Lifetime Achievement Award at Composites 2004

  • Friday, 8th October 2004
  • Reading time: about 4 minutes

The Winners for the 12th Annual Awards for Composites Excellence Product Showcase and Competition have just been announced at the ACMA Composites 2004 Show earlier today.

Technical Innovation for Corrosion Application Award:
Strongwell – Bristol Division for their entry FRP Wale System for Sheet Piling.
The Technical Innovation for Corrosion Application Award is sponsored by Ashland Chemicals. Tim Pepper of Ashland presented the award.

Colour Innovation Award:
Sabrex Water Filter Housing moulded by Continental Structural Plastics, compounded by Moulding Products.
The Colour Innovation Award is sponsored by Plasticolors and was presented by Plasticolors’ President, and ACMA board member Steve Walling.

All the remaining Awards are sponsored by AOC and Composites One with Fletcher Lindberg of AOC and Greg Shymske of Composites One presenting the awards.

Market Expansion Award:
Altus Group for their entry Carbon Cat Precast Concrete Reinforcement.
The Market Expansion award recognizes the entry that has the opportunity to create the greatest potential for the composites industry.

The Creative Application Award:
Click Bond for their entry Adhesive Bonded Right Angle Composite Fastener.
The Creative Application Award seeks to recognize the entry that offers a new manner in which to use composites.

The Process Innovation Award:
Strongwell – Chatfield Division for their Pultruded PVC Shapes.
The Process Innovation Award represents an entry that was manufactured by the most innovative production method.

Quality in an Open Moulded Part Award:
Moulded Fibre Glass Companies for their Composite Beam for Vehicular Bridges.
Quality in an Open Moulded Part Award is awarded for a product that demonstrates exceptional quality.

People’s Choice Award:
ThyssenKrupp Budd’s Composite Pick Up Box.
The People’s Choice Award is where convention attendees are asked to select their favourite product from all those submitted and are asked to look at products on the basis of quality, process innovation.

2004 President’s Award:
Interplastic Corporation, Mr. Bob DeRoma, CCT.
The 2004 President’s Award is bestowed upon someone who has made significant contributions to both the Association and the industry.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Mr. M.C. Gill.
The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to MC Gill for at 93 years of age, M.C. Gill has the distinction of running the oldest, continuously operating, composites business in the world. After years of struggle and a diversity of products ranging from wall fab to balsa baseball bats, his company, Peerless Plastics evolved into the California-based M.C. Gill Corporation. Since the mid-40s, M.C. has done business with more than 400 companies around the world, many of whom are ACMA members. He’s a man with a spirited imagination and a strong commitment to risk. And he’s still at it. He gets up and goes to work six mornings a week. His belief in the industry’s future has led him to donate more than $12 million to the now named Merwyn C. Gill Foundation Composites Center at his alma mater, the University of Southern California. Recently, in a speech to Eagle Scouts in Pasadena, he said, “One way to get the ball rolling on a Composites Merit Badge is to fund it, so I am providing a gift to the San Gabriel Valley Scout Council of $100,000 to this end. Now get to work!”.

Other awards were:
Technical Paper Award:
M. P. Kutarba for “Repair of Corrosion Damaged Concrete Beams with Carbon Fiber-Reinforced Polymer Composites”.
The Technical Paper Award recognizes the paper judged to be the best technical paper of COMPOSITES 2004 by the paper committee.

The ACMA Scholars Awards, presented by Interplastic’s Director of Technical Marketing, Terry McCabe. Interplastic are the sponsors of the award which recognizes outstanding achievements by students affiliated with – or whose parents are affiliated with – the composites industry and the ACMA.

Interplastic Corporation is pleased to have awarded five two thousand dollar scholarships to the recipients of ACMA’s 2004 scholars program. The recipients were….
Benjamin Curtin, sponsored by Prime Coatings of Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Courtney Moran, sponsored by The Bradley Corporation of Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Rachel Nicole Newsted, sponsored by Meridian Automotive Systems in Dearborn, Michigan
Andrew Sumarto, sponsored by Lasco Bathware in Anaheim, California
And Caroline Williams, sponsored by Strongwell of Bristol, Virginia
The winners were selected from a talented and competitive pool of more than 75 individuals whose applications were reviewed by a panel of men and women from a cross section of the industry.

For more information visit:

Share this article


More News

Comments (0)

Leave your comment