Composites World / NetComposites

Connecting you to the composites industry


NetComposites Ltd has transferred the rights and ownership of this website to Gardner Business Media Inc.

On 1st January 2020, NetComposites' media assets including, newsletters and conferences were transferred to Composites World (Gardner Business Media).

This site is no longer being updated. Please direct all enquiries to

For further details see our joint press release.

ACMA Launches Composites Industry Hall of Fame

  • Friday, 5th March 2004
  • Reading time: about 2 minutes

In an effort to preserve the legacies of those who made lasting and significant contributions to the perpetuation of the composites industry, the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) is now accepting nominations for its newly established Composites Industry Hall of Fame.

The first class of inductees, to be honored this year in Tampa at ACMA’s COMPOSITES 2004, will share good company as the new hall of fame already includes all of ACMA’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients as well as all recipients of the Clare E. Bacon Award presented by the Composites Institute before it ceased to exist.

“We are very excited about this project,” says ACMA Executive Director Missy Henriksen. “The composites industry is relatively young compared to traditional materials industries, and the forefathers, the first generation pioneers, entrepreneurs, research and project engineers, are starting to leave us. We want to celebrate the impact they have had on the industry, as well as mark their place for future generations. Right now, as with many of our members who operate family businesses, the third generation of the industry is starting to reach the decision making level in many businesses. They have learned from the first and second generations and we feel now is a good time to honor that process with an industry hall of fame.”

Future ACMA conventions and trade shows will be the venue for future induction ceremonies. Nominations will be accepted until April 1st for this year’s class of candidates. Forms can be obtained on the ACMA Website at Nominees may hail from all segments of the industry. Aside from having spent at least 20 years in the composites industry, criterion include:

– Exemplary contribution to legislative and/or regulatory affairs of significant long-term consequence;
– Invention of a process or product that has had long-term impact;
– A successful business career in which measurable contributions have been made to industry, government, employees, or the community;
– Lasting and significant contributions to the industry’s trade groups: ACMA, SPI, SIRC, NMMA, ICPA, SAMPE, SME, etc…; and
– Contributions in academia that have had long-term positive impact to the composites industry.

“We want to stress that there does not have to be an immediate affiliation with ACMA,” adds Henriksen. “We are looking for diverse contributions to the industry.”

For more information visit:

Share this article

More News

Comments (0)

Leave your comment