Interplastic Corporation 2010 Scholars Award Winners

06 September 2010

Bob DeRoma, Interplastic Corporation’s Senior Vice President, has announced the 2010 recipients of the Scholars Award sponsored by Interplastic Corporation in affiliation with the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA).

The five well-deserving high school graduates and their company affiliations are: Elizabeth Browning, Kingsport, Tennessee (Eastman Chemical Company); Jennifer Hu, Huntington Beach, California (Performance Composites Inc.); Michael Stolle, The Woodlands, Texas (Huntsman Corporation); Sindhu Subramanian, The Woodlands, Texas (Huntsman Corporation); Niles Wimber, McDonough, Georgia, (Orenco Systems, Inc.). Each winner receives $2,000 to be used towards their studies at a four-year college or university of their choice.

This is the tenth year Interplastic Corporation has awarded the scholarships. “We are proud to sponsor this program and believe it’s a tremendous way for our company to increase student awareness of composites,” said Bob DeRoma. “These young adults go above and beyond obtaining outstanding academic grades. They are involved in charitable works, active in their communities and set excellent examples for others to follow.”

To be eligible for a Scholars Award, the applicant’s parents, legal guardian, or the student must be employed by an ACMA-member company and the student must be planning to attend an accredited four-year college or university. The selection of the Scholars winners is based on the individual’s personal merit and background, with an emphasis on excellence in academic and extracurricular activities. The scholarships must be used for tuition and/or required books, supplies and equipment.

Information regarding the 2011 Scholars Awards is available on Interplastic Corporation’s website.

Share this story