Interplastic Corporation Announces 2009 Scholars Award Winners

27 November 2009

Bob DeRoma, Interplastic Corporation’s Senior Vice President, has announced 2009’s recipients of the Scholars Award, sponsored by Interplastic Corporation in affiliation with the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA).

The five high school graduates and their company affiliations are: Wendy Tsai, Houston, Texas (Akzo Nobel Polymer Chemicals); Carlton Reininger, Valencia, California (Gruber Systems); Sarah Mann, Stella, North Carolina (National Marble Products); Giulia Pantalone, Montvale, New Jersey (Alcan Baltek Corporation); Brian Free, Rose Valley, Pennsylvania, (Rebus Inc.).

Each winner receives $2,000 to be used towards their studies at a four-year college or university of their choice.

This is the ninth year Interplastic Corporation has awarded the scholarships. “This award program is significant to our company in that we can give back to the community as well as increase student awareness of the composites industry,” said Bob DeRoma. “We are proud to recognize these young adults for their outstanding achievements, not only academically, but also through their community actions and charitable works,” added DeRoma.

To be eligible for a Scholars Award, the applicant’s parents, legal guardian, or the student must be employed by an ACMA-member company and the student must be planning to attend an accredited four-year college or university.

Details of how to apply for 2010’s Scholars Award scheme can be found on the corporation’s website.

Share this story